Connecticut Trust For Historic Preservation

Rhodes House, Fairfield

back to listings

This two-story, wood-frame house was built in 1809 and displays a simple New England dignity. Cedar shingles covered in gray paint clad the exterior. The first-floor windows have six-over-six sashes, while the smaller windows upstairs have nine-over-six sashes. The building rests on a fieldstone foundation.

Located on a corner parcel in the Greenfield Hill section of Fairfield, the Rhodes house is one of few surviving examples of its type in Fairfield. The original portion of the house contains the front door and the two windows to the right on both stories. The two-story section to the left of the entrance is an early addition, as is the one-story section beyond it. The wrought-iron railings at the entrance and the aluminum awning are obvious modern attachments and could be easily removed. This would leave an authentic early-nineteenth-century dwelling.

One family has owned this house for almost 100 years. It has four fireplaces and retains early interior features, such as wide-board floors. Nothing is known about the original owner, James Rhodes, except that he owned land in Fairfield in the early nineteenth century and built this house. Stone walls line the road frontage of the two-acre property, which contains mature trees and shrubs and a picturesque pond. A barn, an outhouse, and a stone well add to the classic New England atmosphere. The barn has badly weathered vertical-board siding, but is protected from the elements by tar paper. Beside it a stone foundation remains from another barn, now removed.

The house needs rehabilitation. It contains approximately 1,800 square feet of floor space. Fortunately, it is not being marketed as a teardown. However, the risk of such a fate is great in southern Fairfield County, where historic houses are too often demolished when located on desirable property. Contact: Doris Rowe, Coldwell Banker Real Estate, 203-227-1269. Price: $795,000.