Connecticut Trust For Historic Preservation

About Us

Preserving, protecting and promoting the historic buidlings, sites, structures and landscapes that contribute to the heritage, economy and vitality of Connecticut communities.

Staff Directory:

Christopher Wigren, Deputy Director,

Jane Montanaro, Interim Executive Director and Preservation Services Director,

Erin Marchitto, Communications and Advocacy Manager,

Jordan Sorensen, Membership Manager,

Renee Tribert, Project Manager: Making Places CT Mills Survey,

Wes Haynes, Project Director: Making Places CT Mills Survey,

Contact our Circuit Riders:

Brad Schide: (860-463-0193),

Gregory Farmer: (203-464-7380),


Chairman: Garry Leonard, Madison

Vice Chairman: Sara Bronin, Hartford 

Secretary: Edith Pestana, Hartford

Treasurer: Edward Munster, Haddam

Assistant Treasurer: Charles Janson, Darien

Gubernatorial Appointees:
 Edith Pestana, Hartford and Edmund F. Schmidt, Darien

Additional Members of the Board of Trustees:

Margaret Anderson, Marion

Francis J. Chiaramonte, Harwinton

Mary Catherine Curran, Hartford

Jeremy Frost, Southport

Jane M. Grant, Clinton

Henry Griggs, Madison

Mary Ann Handley, Manchester

Garrett Heher, Centerbrook

Scott Jackson, Hamden

Erica Popick Kevrekian, West Hartford

Leslie King, Hamden

Jeffry Muthersbaugh, Haddam

Thomas W. Nissley, New Canaan

Matthew Peterson, Guilford

George Schoellkopf, Washington

Caroline Sloat, Thompson

Myron Stachiw, Woodstock

Peter Stockman, Killingworth

Robert Svensk, Southport

Maisa L. Tisdale, Trumbull

John B. Toomey, Jr., Bolton

Marye Wagner, Clinton

Gregory Waterman, West Hartford

Damaris D. Whittaker, Marlborough

Richard Wies, Branford

Advisory Council:

Martha Alexander, New Haven

J. Barclay Collins, Sharon

William Crowe, Canton

Jared Edwards, FAIA,

West Hartford

Inger Elliott, Stonington

Theodore F. Ells, Branford

Gerald Farrell, Jr., Wallingford

Walter Fiederowicz, Litchfield

Mimi Findlay, New Canaan

Lynn Friedman, Woodbury

Glenn Geathers, Hartford

Lee G. Kuckro, Wethersfield

Stephen S. Lash, Stonington

Charles T. Lee, Greenwich

Peter Malkin, Greenwich

Cesar Pelli, FAIA, New Haven

John W. Shannahan, Suffield

Office Building:

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and designated as an Official Project of the Save America's Treasures Program, the Eli Whitney Boarding House at 940 Whitney Avenue, Hamden has served as the Connecticut Trust's headquarters since 1989.

Built in 1827 the Boarding House is the only surviving residential structure of the industrial village that centered on Eli Whitney's Armory along the Mill River. It was here that Whitney made rifles for the United States Government in the early 19th century and worked to develop the concept of interchangeable parts. Remaining structures from the village include an early storehouse, Whitney's barn and the Boarding House. A later industrial building across Whitney Avenue currently houses the Eli Whitney Museum, which is dedicated to presenting and interpreting the inventive genius of Eli Whitney.

The Boarding House was designed exclusively for workers and was one of the first generation of industrial workers' housing in the state. The larger spaces on the ground floor, which were originally the kitchen and schoolroom, provide meeting space and library shelves. The smaller former bedrooms on the second floor afford ideal office space.

When the Trust acquired the building in 1989 it had been covered with synthetic siding and had lost most of its original sash. After a careful restoration, the Trust moved in.

The latest restoration push for the Eli Whitney Boardinghouse has been two-fold: First, starting in the fall of 2008, R.J. Aley has restored and weatherized all of the buildings windows. Not only has this increased the buildings energy efficiency, but this process retained all of the historic fabric of the windows, proving yet again that restoration of historic windows rather than replacement is a viable and favorable option. Secondly, in spring 2009 the Trust received a grant from the Commission on Culture and Tourism for $24,800.00 to restore the exterior of the building. The project includes surface restoration, clapboard repair, paint and storm windows.